Today I was almost giving up on my 10 days milestone of writing about a learning I receive each day. Giving up on the second day doesn’t sound good at all. The day was so hectic and I was tired when I reached home at 10 PM. I was exhausted to either open my laptop or ponder over what I learned today to share. That’s when I logged in to my laptop and started my writing. There right at that minute, a strong word strikes me which is perseverance. If I had given up today, I’m sure I wouldn’t have slept well or couldn’t have avoided the guilt I would run into the next morning. If I had given up today, I could not have made a good excuse to my world, while so many others are working hard non-stop towards their goal.

Perseverance is persistence, it is something or rather your efforts that are required to do something and continue doing it even if it’s hard. Tonight, I am happy I did not give up and I’m persevering. How do I do this on every such situation, may be situations that are even tougher than this? What is required to persevere for long term goals? I’m aware that it is not just with IQ or EQ.

I learned  that grit is what required to help you persevere; the long term passion. According to dictionary, grit means ‘strength of character’; ‘strength of will’.

Along with grit, you need to learn to measure yourself to help you persevere. You must learn to measure your success. You must be ready to be wrong; do not fear the failure, so that you start over from your learning which will lead you to perfection in fact. Tonight I did fear my failure of giving up on writing this post, however, I started over from previous learning. I sure wanted to persevere. Willingness and strong determination matter.

I looked up for articles supporting my thoughts and I came across a wonderful TED Talk by Angela Lee Duckworth, a Psychologist. Enjoy the video and please remember ‘grit’ is important 🙂

4 thoughts on “#2 Are you grittier?

Leave a Reply

