Today I was talking to my little niece who is 7 years old and her name is Nia. She asked me casually what I should do to grow tall. I told her start playing basketball sport. She told me No, I don’t want to play that sport. I asked her, is it because you don’t like that sport? She said, I like that sport, but I don’t want to play it because it is a tough sport. I was taken aback. I told her if you like something do not give up on it just because it is tough. Give it a try first. She says in a low voice, Okayyyyyy. Fineeee. I will play.

I could not explain her more, she is just a girl who is in second grade. But I was worried about how do I tell her about making tough choices. It’s a strike in my mind, I started thinking about me and how do I make tough choices? I find it difficult too.

Should I live my life happily by doing what I like? Or should I let go my dreams because someone says don’t do it?

Should I express my feelings by being honest with my friend? Or should I hurt her by being honest?

Should I drink coffee so it helps me to finish a task overnight which is beneficial or should I not drink coffee and doze off without finishing my work because caffeine is not good for health?

I have seen myself in such confusion in my life on and off a lot about what to choose or what should I do out of 2. Sometimes I sit and pray God asking Him to help me to make a decision, I won’t be able to hear His answers soon, so I step up to human steps of writing down pros and cons in a paper and try to figure out which one could I choose, sometimes doing that takes me to a different level of confusion or sometimes I make my choices based on the pros.

Sometimes I take 2 small sheets, write ‘Yes’ in one sheet and ‘No’ in another. I fold the sheets carefully so that I don’t make a difference, roll it on the floor, close my eyes and pick one and think that’s my choice.

Sometimes I flip a coin too.

Silly me I have done all these 😀

Well, yeah life teaches you a lot, I learned that I should not give up on tough choices just because it is tough or risky or because someone did not approve it or because I flipped a wrong coin :-p

You need to know how to make tough choices by not treating it as difficult or hard. 

You will hear about it better from one of my favorite TED talks, an inspiring talk by Ruth Chang, a philosopher.

Hope you will be inspired too 🙂

Photo Credit: http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/fitfreeze-fights-cravings.htm

5 thoughts on “#9 How do I make tough choices?

  1. Creating reasons! (quite impressive!!!!) – the key which most of us are oblivious to, as we are habituated to the take the predefined reasons that lay out there. She has gotten right that these reasons and subsequently the choices, easy or difficult, are our shapers. May be we all should aim at redefining things, start from scratch and invent our own reasons, to even what we think an easy choice, so that we would be attuned to make the difficult choices easy as pie.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Very thoughtful Shree and very true. From scratch it should work.I am thinking about my niece how do I let her know too as she is a small kid and easy for her to practice a good habit quick

      Like

Leave a Reply

