From the title, you could understand what my post is about.  I did uninstall Facebook app from my phone and I discovered I am not addicted to it, yet I realized I had wasted my time just by scrolling up and down. Whenever a question raised in my mind that if I am over using the app?, I used to answer, “Not at all, I am just filling a gap by just going over some articles, news and little updates about my friends post”. I also thought it is needed for me that I am away from hometown.  I wouldn’t blame Facebook, I blame myself for overusing it. I am trying to take 100% responsibility for what I do and what I don’t do and how I respond to what’s done to me. This is one of the favorite tips I learned from Darren Hardy, the best selling author, keynote speaker and former publisher of Success Magazine and he said the below:-

Capture

Photo Credit: Tumblr.com

It’s very true and once you take charge in what you do and don’t do, You will see the change in how your life moves ahead.

Coming to the question how Facebook was taking my time, I will depict how I was using it in a day. I wake up in the morning and I got into this new habit of lying in the bed for some time after the alarm goes, did you guess why this new habit?,yes, you are right! I open the Facebook and see the news feed may be for 5 to 10 mins that’s all. It’s not a big deal right. My day begins, I freshen up, workout, meditate and eat my breakfast. I used to eat my breakfast in less than 10 mins which is increased to 20 mins because I go through the news feed in Facebook. Yet I thought what’s a big deal, I am just keeping myself company, what’s wrong in it. Once I am done with my breakfast, I start doing my school assignments and while I am doing my assignments, every 10 mins I check my Facebook page and the reason is to just take a break from tedious assignments. This time I thought even more and told myself, “Really??? Are you kidding me? Break every 10 mins and you call it break from the tedious task? Now that’s big no-no”. I used to finish my work in 4 hours however lately, I see that I take the whole day to finish my daily assignments. This goes on for the whole day until I fall asleep even while eating my lunch and sometimes during dinner when I am not eating dinner with my family. I check Facebook page even while I am reading novels. The only time I wasn’t checking Facebook was during meditation and when I am asleep.

I was able to see this difference because I started being online in Facebook from last 2 months. That does not mean I was not an active Facebook user before, until last 2 months, I used to check my Facebook page, however never to this level. There were days that I have not logged into Facebook. I clearly see the change now and how much time I spent in Facebook and you wouldn’t believe me if I said it’s almost 4 hours in a day. Yesterday, I decided to uninstall the app from phone and set up a time to check my Facebook page only at the end of the day for 10 to 15 mins.  I did that yesterday and it continued today as well. I am not addicted to it and it did not make me go crazy either; I am happy that I am able to get my things done much quicker and I did save 4 hours of time for my productive tasks.

You may be thinking that those bits of 5 minutes that you take to check your Facebook page do no harm in your productivity, you are wrong! If you track those little bits of 5 minutes, you will see hours added up at the end of the day. You could actually use those little bits of 5 minutes to take break from screen time by doing eye exercise, a quick walk, a quick call to your mom or your loved ones, if you are someone who is in front of computer for long hours that’s required by your job, then you should probably move out of your desk in those 5 minutes or do some exercise that relaxes your mind and body than logging onto Facebook.

Nothing against Facebook, I agree it does help people stay connected and offers much more fun. In fact, I ❤ Facebook.

love-facebook-wallpaper-400x266

 

Manage your usage, that’s all it takes. ☺

Photo Credit-Feature Image: http://www.hdcutewallpaper.com/love-pics-facebook/
10 thoughts on “How uninstalling Facebook app saved my time?

    • Thank you for your comment 🙂
      True, sometimes it’s better to be offline 🙂
      I am not sure if I understood your question about ‘how to control WA time waste’. If you are asking about how not to waste time, then my quick suggestion is to track your time in a notebook or excel. Record what time you woke up, what you did next 30 minutes and so on until the time you went to bed.I use this method and its one of the best that helps me to be productive throughout the day.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great post! First of all, kudos to you for being able to set aside some time for meditation… that’s very important. You sound young to me (in your 20’s?) but full of wisdom. I’m still trying to learn that and it’s still on my bucket list to be checked off.
    You are so right! When I realized how much time I was wasting on FB/ social media, I decided to deactivate at the start of the year when I decided to start Graduate school to minimize distraction but then blogging is taking so much of my time now. Ugh! (I have 3.)

    I have to say you have a FAB blog. I enjoy your material. I just gave you a ‘follow’. 🙂
    Have a fabulous day! I’m looking forward to reading your posts.
    Feel free to check my new blog, too…

    Carpe diem!
    LIVE ❤ LAUGH … BELLE PAPILLON

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much and it means a lot. I really enjoy meditating every morning and its an amazing feel to lose yourself in a different space. Its my time to get myself together for the day lol 🙂 (like they say in movies, ‘get your shit together’ LoL) I’m sure you will enjoy too. Hope to see you crossing it from your bucket list soon. Many thanks and I am glad you like my blog.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

